RESPONSE, a Short Film

This project tackles the subject of evil in the abstract, and the various “responses” by human beings to it; these are represented here by the four characters. Does one cower in fear from the presence of evil, as Violet does? Or show indifference, like Mr. Gray? What about actively fighting it, as Lance chooses to do? And then there are those who join its cause with relish, as in the case of Madame Dragovitch. Evil itself is symbolized in Response by a sinister sculpture in a museum gallery, created by an unseen artist named Midnight Soul…

Work on this was quite fulfilling for me.  I planned the characters, inside and out, and proceeded on to the script, then referred to that to do the animation.  The finished film is composed of both drawings (for the close-ups and action shots) and dioramic shots. 

About RetroMan

My three greatest inspirations as an artist are, in no particular order, Bette Davis, Joan Crawford, and Alfred Hitchcock. Their films and their personal lives were the reason I started writing and creating back when I was a very lonely and misunderstood teenager. I am at present commencing to hammer out a career-primary or secondary-as an author/illustrator. I already have several books self-published and I've included links to where those are available. Thanks for stopping by! View all posts by RetroMan

Leave a comment